top of page

This is My Continued Story Part 2!

Hey, Welcome Back Gang!

Glad to know that at least one person read it, and wanted more, (We Got More)!

Another reason that I finally decided to do this blog, is to have an ACCURATE accounting of "EVERYTHING" that happened during my short Navy Enlistment, and why it was so HORRIBLE, and that doesn't even come close to describing what all happened, and the fact "I CAN NOT EVER REMEMBER ANY GOOD" ! I also need a place for the V.A. to be able to refer to, where all the facts, details, most everything I can remember is listed and described here, in the order it was received basically! I had every reason to go POSTAL, when the VA never wanted to #1: Do any work period on me and my case. #2: Never even wanted to give me a rating. You can not get any VA Help w/o a disability rating of 10% or more, and my final to date is a mere 20% that I call "SHUTUP MONEY"! But Remember: "I CHOSE A DIFFERENT PATH"!


Let's see, The next Chapter in the saga...

Chapter 5: Gally Work Week!


Every New Recruit to report aboard, (at least during my time), Had to pull a week of "GALLY DUTY". Normally this would be within the first 6 months of reporting aboard. My time was no different, I was just next on the list, my BILLIT NUMBER came up. (Veterans, when's the last time you heard that phrase; BILLIT NUMBER OR GIG LINE)!

REMEMBER: I am still heavily medicated, barely any care for my injuries, and ordered to work, when also ordered bedrest to recover. I always thought that a Drs Order TRUMPS other orders, but, I am a new boot camp recruit, what do I know! So, Off I Went!


Gally Time is working (Obviously) in the Gally of the ship where all the food for over 500 men are created 3 times a day, every day, (Obviously), as well as the Movie snacks on Movie nights. Where the heck is he going with this? Your first 2-3 days on "GALLY" is "DISH'S"! So Many Dish's!! We had the Auto DRYER, that was new to the ship, but no AUTO WASHER of any kind, like most restaurants have today. All was done by hand and most pots/ pans were very large, bulky, awkward and heavy. Did I forget to mention: "I HAD AN EXTREMELY SCREWED UP WING"! (Plus, dental work was way past needed). Is this part starting to become a little clearer? is the fog lifting yet. They coulda waited a bit, until I was more healed up, But NO! MY NUMBER CAME UP! So, off I went! I couldn't even make it thru the very first day! By Dinner I had dropped onto the Kitchen floor 3 times, due to EXTREME PAIN! They kept "Picking Me Back UP, and helping Me To The "DISHES"! "Oh The Pain, The Pain"! (Lost In Space). I tried my best to do the 2nd day, and I just couldn't hold onto anything, (still in a brace folks, all this time). By the 3rd Day, they had re assigned me to NIGHT work. Basically helping the night cook with desserts, and the Morning breakfast team. This wasn't too bad. I got to see the movies on Movie nights as the night cook let us all break for the movie, very kewl! Plus, he UNDERSTOOD, and said the night team was his team to do with as he saw fit, and as long as I reported on time, He'd Look out for me, and he did. I finished my week with the night team, and felt like I was beginning to fit in someplace. Now, also during this time, This Night cook introduced me to these 'Courses' you can take, with Final exams at the end of each, and that would enable you to achieve your Rate/ Rank, MOS as most know. Your Job and Rate!

Everyone starts out aboard ship as a temporary Boatswains Mate. Basically, at the start, your also referred to as a "NON-RATE BOATSWAINS MATE"! The "SHIPS JANITORS"! Here is one thing I really want to mention here, as the time relates to Issues in todays world, (This part is not about me, per se.). You see it was ships custom to take 'ALL TRASH" 3x a day, every day, and "THROW IT OFF THE FAN-TAIL"! We used to watch the trash bags, as we'd throw them over the Rear of the ship, the Props would suck and hold the bags right up against the ship until they shredded! We'd have contests to see who's trash bag would last the longest till total destruction. I NEVER UNDERSTOOD this "PROPER PROCEDURE"! We are the US NAVY & 3X A DAY, EVERYDAY, WE LITTER OUR OCEANS WITH TRASH, AND WE'RE BUT ONE SHIP OF MANY THAT ALL DO THIS VERY SAME THING, AIRCRAFT CARRIERS WITH THOUSANDS ONBOARD, ALL WITH TRASH 3X A DAY, EVERYDAY, MULTIPLIED BY HOW MANY US NAVY SHIPS"? I just never understood that part, but did as told to.


Anyway, Back On Course.

I never understood either why they just didn't wait on my GALLY DUTIES, Until I was healed up. It's not like I was going anywhere any time soon. When they saw that it just wasn't working, that I was FALLING DOWN a lot, they coulda RESCHEDULED ME. I was actually on Light Duty Only too, I had a "CHIT"! But I finished "GALLY" and back to my other duties. While In "GALLY" My New Nite Boss, told me about those "COURSES", So, I started learning and searching for "What was I going to be in the US Navy. My Job Officially. My Title! When I finally found it, (I searched low and hi for something I could be sure I could take onwards with me, with really no issue, after I was out of the service. Like there's not much call for FLIGHT DECK Personnel, (We Had Helicopters that dropped supplies and the crew on our Destroyer would be called "FLIGHT DECK")! But, there could be a call for a "SHIPS STORE OPERATOR" (SH). Maintaining the day to day operations of the ships store. "THATS IT"! So, I began to take courses, simple enough. Book 1, Read, quiz, pass, Book 2, (same, and all the way to Book 20). So simple enough, YEA, BOUT THAT LITTLE PART. Simple was what it never ever became. I did the work, I did the studies, I took and Passed all the tests without failing a single one, and I got CREDITS for the Books and Tests but was never awarded the rate, (Until I got out and fought for it)! It's even screwed up on my DD-214: "Electrical and Mechanical Repairman" Is what my discharge states today that my Job was in the Navy. I NEVER WAS THAT! (I never received anything at all for it, the rate badge, The advancement, nothing: "BECAUSE I WAS NOT THAT"! I never received anything at all period for the RATE I "DID RIGHTLY EARN"!! No Rate Patch (SH), No Advancement, Nothing at all period. "What the Hell was going on"? Had I done something I wasn't aware of? I only got sad pathetic excuses as to 'WHY"! (I felt like father Mulcahy - Mash when he kept not getting advanced every time to Captain)! I did the work, where's the payoff. "IT NEVER CAME WHILE I WAS ACTIVE DUTY"! What I did do, and I think this started all the rest of the story, I think it started here. I began becoming friends with Mark Vest: Ships Store Operator. He knew like almost half the ship knew about my issues, and they were on my side. No one could give me any straight forward answers or reasons I never made rate OFFICIALLY when work was completed and passed. Others had same results, and kept wondering what I had done to deserve this treatment. Other than I came onboard "PRE INJURED", there shoulda been no other reason. But, I got the raw end of EVERY STICK they dished out to me, I became the USS SAMPSONS WHIPPING BOY! THAT WAS MY JOB OFFICIALLY! (Here's where the dark clouds begin to form and move in)!!


Chapter 6: PUERTO RICO

Not sure if you remember, but all this time, gally time and all, I was IN TROUBLE ALREADY! (Oh yea, That's Right). Remember I was under 6 months restricted to ship and forfeiture of 1/2 pay for same time). We got to Puerto Rico, and we took on supplies first, then they called "Liberty Call"! We were having Liberty Call and They let me go for 24 hours, (How Nice). BUT, NO CIVILLIAN CLOTHES, ONLY DRESS WHITES, YES, DRESS WHITES, (Plays Later). In My DRESS WHITES Off I went!


Now, at the time what was commonplace, that everyone, Mostly sailors too all did there was to rent MOPEDS, and I was 18 and "Wow, I'm In Puerto Rico, and about to rent a moped and ride all over the island and tour the place at my leisure". GREAT WAY TO UNWIND AND RELAX," until your chain comes off out in the middle of where you have no idea where your at, but you knew you were on an island. MY CHAIN CAME OFF, IT SURE DID! I waited for a couple hours for someone to pass by, no one did, so I had to take matters in my own hands. what would anyone else had done? I, In My Navy Dress Whites, Re did the chain to operational again, but, with one minor little issue. glad I was already wearing my "NAVY DRESS WHITES & BLACKS"!! I was greasy dirty from fixing this bike, and it came off again before I got it back. I got a full refund, that's kewl. "THEN I REPORTED BACK TO THE BOAT"! When I walked up to the quarterdeck, and made my proper salutes and greetings we all had to do when reporting back onboard, I was "TAKEN INTO CUSTODY"! ("WHAT")!!!!


I was immediately re ordered back to ships Punishment, (from Before), and had to report to my 2nd Captains Mast! THEIR REASON: DISRESPECT OF A MILITARY UNIFORM AND DESTRUCTION OF GOVERNMENT PROPERTY, (as the clothes had to be trashed, so they told me). 2nd MAST in ONE YEAR (1). This is all true. I got re ordered another 6 months same, same. Now, I was a PROBLEM, and I started to BECOME AN ISSUE. I had as much on them, (THE US NAVY), as they appeared to have on me. Where's my Rates, Where's my Ribbons, where's everything I earned about your tiny little canoe"! "SHOW ME THE MONEY" (of which I never saw). Plus, "WHAT THE HELL IS ALL THIS REALLY ABOUT"??? Why have I been singled out, and "FORCED" Into this person "THAT YOU HAVE TURNED ME INTO, YOU BEING THE US NAVY!!!! "WHAT THE HELL HAVE I DONE"!


I "TRIED" to remain the best SAILOR I could be, I actually seriously tried so hard, and "FAILED"! I never once got any straight forward answers or reasons why to any of my questions and concerns, (Remember: 18 year old kid still), and I became to get ANGRY. "I HAVE MY DEMANDS NOW":

  1. Fix My Face and Teeth Proper!

  2. Fix My Arm and Hand Proper!

  3. Give Me My Rate and Rank Proper!

  4. Give Me Time to Heal Up Proper!

  5. At the bare minimum I want to see movement by the US Navy about these issues on a regular basis, say ONCE A WEEK REPORTS FROM THE US NAVY! If a week goes by, and NOTHING been done to FIX ME, (even a fake appointment date prolly woulda worked at the time, but they never even went that far), Then I become less and less a sailor. That confused them. But, I knew and they knew they had me now with these "DEMANDS"! They had no intention ever of ever fixing me. Now, it appeared to them they had their out as was gonna FORCE ME OUT. Now, to me at 18, GAME ON!

NOTHING was done the first week, Nothing was done the second week, I gave them ample time to "DO SOMETHING"! Third week, (I had made proper reports, and did everything the proper, legal, NAVY WAY'S until NOW)!


Earl: Morning Muster: "No Show"!!!

(and so it begins).


I figured if they are NEVER EVER gonna GIVE ME ANYTHING AT ALL, Then, they aren't getting a 'THING " from me, (and at this stage, I thought hard, and made a firm decision). I am not getting any medical treatments I need on board this tub. I have now become the ships PUNK and WHIPPING BOY, and I saw NO END TO THAT, and only getting worse. I am still a non rate janitor. So, I was found listening to my music, IN MY RACK PAST MUSTER! First by my Immediate Chief, next time by my division head, (Not at assigned post). Time for 3rd MAST! I LOST ALL PRIIVEDGES FOR THE REMAINDER OF MY TIME ONBOARD"! "THAT DID IT, FINAL STRAW, I WAS DONE AT THAT TIME, DONE, DONE, DONE! NOW, IT'S TIME TO WORK ON GETTING MY NAVY ASS OUT OF THIS OUTFIT, AND THAT BECAME MY FULL TIME JOB!


While Underway to do drills down by Cuba, The Captain the the XO: (Executive Officer), held some kind of a meeting at night one night down by Cuba. When the meeting was done, (and I do believe I was set up and fell for it), I did a BAD THING. I noticed the CAPTAIN had left his hat on one of the seats in the gally, "SO I TOOK IT"! "I STOLE THE CAPTAINS HAT"! The next Morning, while I was at Chow, they pulled a locker inspection on me, and what did they find? "A CAPTAINS HAT"! Maybe that would get me out of this outfit once and for all", but no. 'OBVIOUSLY, ANOTHER MAST"! I got "3-Days Bread and Water" in "Guantanamo Bay Cuba"! I can still tell ya every step of what happened there, nothing bad tho. I was not once mistreated there

in any way. I had 1 single bed, in a very small room, with one door that had a small square window. On Outside of door window, was a clipboard. The BUNK HAD TO BE MADE BY 0500 EVERY MORNING, and NO SITTING ON BED TILL 2000 (8 PM). You can only STAND or SIT in this straight back wooden chair. At any time, the guard could appear at your door window, and when they did, (very random), You had to POP to attention and sound off your name, rank and social. This was very very random on purpose obviously. 3x a day they'd bring me a metal pitcher full of ice water and a loaf of bread. I had 15 minutes to eat that fine Navy Chow! 3.5 Days later I reported back aboard. Now remember thru all this, there was still NO PROPER MEDICALS ever performed on me to fix me proper. I was a wreck! From Puerto Rico we went on to Jamaica. Nothing bad there. Then we came home.


I got 2 weeks Leave and came home. That's when Mom tried to get things done to assist this to get me fixed somehow. she failed as well, But she did try.


More to come in part 3, stay tuned!!


LeeBird!

NavSource Naval History

Photographic History of the United States Navy

DESTROYER

ARCHIVE

USS SAMPSON (DDG-10)

18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page